Thursday, August 05, 2004


Also called �Mdo-stod, � one of three regions into which the area of Central Asia inhabited by Tibetans is traditionally divided. During the 7th to 9th century AD, the central Tibetan kingdom was extended until it reached the Tarim Basin on the north, China on the east, India and Nepal on the south, and Kashmir on the west. The newly added dominions to the east and northeast were called Mdo-Khams. The