Monday, August 23, 2004

Pacific Islands, Changing administrations

Two United Nations trust territories were the first to achieve sovereignty as independent nations - Western Samoa (now Samoa) in 1962 and Nauru in 1968. The first continued to rely on New Zealand in foreign affairs, while Nauru ended its trusteeship ties with Australia, New Zealand, and the United Kingdom. New Zealand, a Commonwealth member with a self-conscious Maori Polynesian